Lindau Meetings with Nobel Prize Winners

The Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings occurs annually at the Lake Constanza, in Germany, and is recognized at a worldwide level, as being an excellent opportunity for the interchange of knowledge among scientists of distinct generations. The selection of the Brazilian participants is done since 2008 by ABC, by request of the National Research and Development Council (CNPq), an office of the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MCTI).


The 60thLindau Nobel Laureate Meetings was focused on interdisciplinary conferences, in which they attempted to reflect upon the current scientific issues and present the relevant fields of investigations for the future. Four young scientists, talented in their fields, were indicated by ABC: Cristiana Santos de Macedo (UFRJ) in the area of Human Biology; Nelson Jurandi Rosa (UFRGS), in the area of Genetics and Molecular Biology; Adriana Fontes (UFPE), in the area of Physics (Biophotonics) and Annelise Casellato (UFRJ), in the area of Chemistry.


The 59th edition of the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings was dedicated to Chemistry. ABC indicated five young prominent researchers: Adriano Andricopulo (USP), Cecilia Nunez (INPA), Crestina Consorti (UFRGS), Luciana Gonzaga de Oliveira (Unicamp), Pierre Esteves (UFRJ) and Sandra Zanotto (UEA). Essential and state of the art aspects of several strategic areas of science were presented and discussed during the event.